Miranda's Shadow

Miranda's Shadow: Short stories by Kitty Fitzgerald Kitty Fitzgerald

Short stories by Kitty Fitzgerald

From savage fairies to temptation, murder and snooping, via the hunted, suspicious neighbours and the photographer who saw too much, these provocative and richly conceived stories do what stories should do: tell a strong, engaging tale.

Who is the strange wino with the voice of an angel? Why does nobody go in or out of the Faulkner's house? What is Alice Noonan's secret? Within these pages you'll find love, loss, revenge, redemption and vivid characters you'll not forget in a hurry.

The Instrument Bar, one of the stories in the collection, was shortlisted for the 2013 William Trevor/ Elizabeth Bowen International Short Story Award.

"Miranda's Shadow, Kitty Fitzgerald's debut short story collection, brings together sharp, provocative stories full of rich details. The collection is full of Irish legends, caged girls, shadow chasing, finding love, escaping the clutches of evil MPs and talkative parrots...Fitzgerald peels back the veneer of society and is not afraid to delve into controversial topics. I will definitely read Fitzgerald's novels after reading this collection."

Jessica Patient, The View from Here

"The collection is varied, intriguing and compelling, with each story having a distinctly different 'edge' to distinguish it from the others."

Natalie Moreland, Mojo Mums

"Enthralling and gripping"

Lifestyle Magazine, August 2013

"All in all, Miranda's Shadow exhibits a sweeping imagination that fuses the morals of daily life with fantasy."


"If I had realised that this was a collection of short stories, I would not have chosen to read it, and would have missed a fantastic book and author."


Kitty Fitzgerald has published four novels, including her latest, the much heralded Pigtopia (Faber) translated into more than twenty languages. She was runner-up in the Barnes & Noble Discover New Writers' Awards in 2006. She also writes screenplays, radio drama and for the theatre. This is her first collection of short stories.

ISBN: 978-0-956572-59-2
Price £9.00
Published in June 2013

To buy this book, either:

Iron Press logo 2
Special offers